Array ( [primary] => 4 )

Emerging Artist Fellowship

Henry Gepfer has been selected as our 2016 Emerging Artist Residency at Zygote Press.  This is a competitive award that gives a NEO regional artist graduating from a printmaking program a 3-month residency at Zygote and inclusion into our archives. Henry Gepfer is an artist from Lancaster, Pennsylvania. He is currently an MFA candidate at Edinboro University of Pennsylvania and holds a Bachelor’s degree from Millersville University of Pennsylvania. In 2013, Henry was a finalist in the Print Center’s 87th Annual International Competition and in the summer of 2015 he completed the College and Post-Graduate Apprentice Training Program at the Fabric Workshop and Museum in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Zygote Press Emerging Artist Fellowship is offered to a graduating printmaking student from a northeast Ohio university. This award offers graduates the opportunity for an open-access, three-month free residency at Zygote Press to be used through out the academic year. The residency includes full access to the shop, locker and flat file storage, access to all (supplied and included) materials/equipment, inclusion in Zygote’s archive collection and discounts on classes and workshops for three months. We urge all Graduate and Undergraduate printmaking students to apply. It is possible for people who are attending Graduate School in the fall to utilize the three-months during the summer.

Application materials must be compiled into a single PDF document, no larger than 5MB. The document must be titled “artist last name_artist first name_year” Applications must include the following:

  • 10 images of recent print related work
  • Image list with the following information: Title, date, size, medium, and brief content description if needed
  • Artist Statement and Resume

If you have any questions regarding the residency program or application, please contact Liz Maugans   liz AT zygote press DOT org Application deadline is April 1st. The winner will be notified by April 11th. Applications will be reviewed by a member of the staff, intern and a Board member. Any questions please contact Liz Maugans at or 216 621-2900.                                                                                                                                                             
1996-Joel Alpern(CIA)
1997-Michael Finelli(CIA)
1998-Anton Sinkewich(CIA)
1999-Russ Jurecki(KSU)
2000-j.morrison (KSU)
2001-Melinda Placko (CIA)
2002-Leslie Mutchler (KSU)
2003-Jen Craun (KSU)
2004-Benjamin Haehn(BGSU)
2005-Leslie Alberding(KSU)
2006-Christi Burchfield(CIA)
2007-Clarke Curtis (CIA)
2008-Ryan Serafin (CIA)/April Bleakney(KSU)
2009 Rebekah Wilhelm (CIA)
2010-Adrienne Slane (CIA)
2011-Hannah Lehmann (University of Toledo)
2012-Rachel Shelton (CIA)
2013-Abbey Blake (CIA)
2014-Kerry Werblak (CIA)
2015-Clare Marks (CIA)
2016-Henry Genfer (Edinburg University of Pennsylvania)